BRITAIN and the Netherlands have been authorised by the EU council of finance ministers to begin negotiations with associated territories - in the UK's case the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man and Caribbean dependent territories - for the elimination of secret savings accounts.

The European Commission is also to negotiate with key non-EU countries - the US, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Andorra and San Marino - "to ensure the adoption of equivalent measures."

The Commission had proposed that all EU member countries abolish ...

Full access to this article can be arranged with permission from the client that first ordered it. Please contact us to request access. Entries are uploaded to our archive at least one year after being published by a client – free access is restricted to International News Services journalists for background research only. The article date indicates when copy was filed to a client, not when posted to this archive. Upon client requests, International News Services will remove such articles from the archive or not upload them in the first place. They are included to demonstrate the breadth of topics undertaken by the agency and also to help promote clients’ coverage.